An Update on Rebekah

Elizabeth and I have been deeply thankful for those who have read my blog or used Facebook to keep up on Rebekah. I realize my blogging and updates have been sporadic, so I wanted to let everyone know how Rebekah is doing. I intend to start using the blog to discuss other things I’ve been thinking about, particularly as summer gives me some relief from a hectic life. However, I first wanted to let you all know how my family is doing.

Rebekah is home now, for which Elizabeth and I are deeply thankful. She was marked with the covenant sign of baptism the Sunday before last and we are loving the duties of caring for her, even the middle-of-the-night awakenings and early mornings. There are so many little things I am cherishing about being able to have her home; last Sunday I sang hymns in church with tears in my eyes because I could hold her in my arms as I sang.

Rebekah does continue to have ongoing medical needs. She has issues with her esophagus and being able to swallow. We are praying they might resolve with growth, but if not she will have to undergo surgery sometime this summer to correct it. For now she is getting most of her food through her g-tube. However, she continues to grow, and is now over 11 lbs. There are also questions about whether she will experience long-term developmental issues or disabilities from some of her medical issues associated with prematurity, but this isn’t something we’ll know for some time and we are submitting to whatever the Lord will bring in this area.

We are so grateful for all of your prayers and encouraging words. Being in the hospital for almost five months has made me deeply aware of just how little I can take for granted. The fact that I get to see my daughter smile at me, the fact that she is growing and generally healthy, are great blessings on which I can never again presume. Elizabeth and I hope you will rejoice with us and continue to keep Rebekah in your prayers.

“How precious is your steadfast love, O God! The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings.”  -Psalm 36:7 (ESV)

1 Comment

Filed under Breaking Character

One response to “An Update on Rebekah

  1. Ruth Meador

    Hi Eric~ enjoyed reading your latest blog…dancing was a great way to get across your thoughts…then I thought I’d check and see if there were any late posts on little Rebecca….you need to UPDATE that category I’m afraid…but reminded me of this, I prayed so much for her, and next to her name on my prayer journal is Mar. 27 praise she is home…with mom and dad…so unless I missed it…you have a special anniversary coming up….and congrats on baby number two…what a blessing….greet your wife for me, and tell her happy one year home anniversary.

Leave a Reply

